Apartment building

An interesting choice, provided that a strategic location is chosen.
An investment property is the grail for any rental investor. It can be a very profitable investment, provided that certain strict criteria are met...

You wish to launch your real estate project?

Do you have a question?

A question, a project? Contact us

01 84 17 67 60

Non-surtaxed number

Share:

How to invest in an investment property? All the information and advice you need to choose your investment property. To be read before investing.


Investors looking for a high return and full ownership may logically look for a building for sale. The choice of investing in a building has some interesting advantages, but also some disadvantages that should be taken into account from the start of the project. to be taken into account from the start of the project. The investment amounts are naturally higher for a building than for a condominium, for the same geographical area. All the more reason to be vigilant. You should also be careful to make the right choices from the start of your investment project. In this article you will discover the important elements to take into account if you wish to invest in an investment property and the things to avoid when investing in an investment property.

Photo apartment building Paris


My name is Michael Zonta, and I am the Director of the consultancy company Investissement Locatif. I studied finance at a top business school I studied finance at a top business school (EDHEC) before turning to rental property after graduating in 2011. Since then, I have been helping investors with their real estate projects, and I also invest on a personal basis. I have always been attracted to real estate and rental properties are the grail for any real estate investor.
Firstly because a building is a whole building with a history. Secondly, because the financial envelope of such a project is always higher than a single flat. It is like buying real estate in bulk, which means that you are building up but even faster. Finally, because full ownership has clear financial advantages over condominiums. The advice and analysis you will find in this article are based on my personal experience. My team of twenty employees assists investors with their investment property projects in the Paris region. We also have the opportunity to manage buildings with all the responsibility that this represents. I hope you enjoy reading this article and please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions about specific points or an investment project in an investment property.

Investment property, definition


The investment property can also be called the rental property. It is a special project when it comes to real estate investment, and with good reason. It is a building consisting of several flats and is designed as an investment by the owner-investor. Thus, the owner can This means that the owner-investor can choose a building where the flats are already rented, or a building where the flats are empty, or a building with rented and empty flats. rented and others empty. The advantage of having an empty building is to carry out work if necessary, in order to make the most of the flats, possibly modify the layout to optimise the rental space according to local demand. This is an option to be favoured if you wish to increase the rental yield. Be careful, however, as work cannot be improvised and even less so on a building... you must be accompanied by an architect if you are not a professional. On the other hand, the banks that will finance the operation may appreciate the fact that the building is rented out in the building is rented in part or in full. This is reassuring because leases have already been drawn up, which reduces uncertainty about the rental part: your banker knows directly at what level of rent the building is rented.

Photo building and studio

Where to invest in an investment property?


Whether you are buying a studette or an entire building, the first criterion to consider is location. This is even truer for apartment buildings as you will not be looking for one, but several tenants. Because of the high of a building in large cities, investors may be tempted to invest in the countryside. It also seems easier to find: with the desertification of the countryside, many buildings are for sale. But beware: depending on the location, there is a real risk of ending up with a building impossible to rent, because of low rental demand, or impossible to sell.

The city, the street, the rental demand, are important points in your search, to be analysed from the beginning of the project. If you buy an empty building, you will have to rent it out to pay back your loan, but if the rental demand is how will you find tenants? This can turn into a real trap with monthly mortgage payments and no rent to pay.

Finding an investment property for sale that has all the characteristics of a quality rental investment is not a simple matter. The investors who call on our services are demanding investors: they are looking for a quality property according to precise quality property according to precise criteria. Here are some tips on how to make the right choice when buying a property.

Firstly, as with any property, location is the primary criterion. Owning a building in the depths of the Creuse is flattering. But if no one wants to rent it out, then the investment becomes a pure burden and can cost you a lot of money.

To make the right choice, research the city where you live. What is the trend in the geographical area? What type of population will your property be aimed at and are the prices appropriate? If you want to rent to students, for example, check beforehand that the demand is there.

Photo investment property rental

Financing the purchase of an investment property


The profitability of an investment property is generally higher than that of a diffuse lot. As we have seen, this is due to the fact that the investor buys in bulk and avoids the costs of the syndicate. The amount of the project is more The amount of the project is larger than for the purchase of a diffuse lot, but the banks finance this type of project very well.

When you choose to invest in a building, keep in mind that the work can be significant. For example, unlike a condominium, you will have to pay for the entire roof or façade in the event of work on the building. The surface areas to be renovated are also much larger than for a detached flat. This must be taken into account from the outset. This means that a cash flow fund is needed to avoid unpleasant surprises. During the financing process, ask for a cash flow gap by allowing for the time of the work with an additional security of at least 3 months (the work will be completed in the next three months). of at least 3 months (the work always holds surprises).

The duration of the financing depends on your investment strategy. A long term will favour immediate cash flow, since the monthly payment can be lower than the rental income. A shorter term will allow you to repay the loan more quickly A shorter term will allow you to repay the loan more quickly and therefore to have the totality of the rents at your disposal more quickly... and therefore an income which can be considerable depending on the size of the project.

As far as the loan is concerned, do not hesitate to consult several banks or to go through a specialised broker. As part of our services, Investissement Locatif has solid partners for the financing aspect. If you wish, we can put you in contact with specialists in the field. Finally, you should know that some banks agree to defer the start of monthly payments for twelve to thirty-six months. This can help you build up a cash fund to secure your investment as much as possible.

Buying a building: SCI or own name?


Experienced investors will have the choice of several regimes for setting up the project: furnished rental under the LMP or LMNP scheme, SCI (real estate investment company) subject to income tax, or SCI (real estate investment company) subject to corporation tax, SARL (limited liability company) or SAS (simplified joint stock company). Each system has its advantages and disadvantages, and we will advise you on the tax aspects and possible tax arrangements.

It should be noted that the most commonly used regime for investment in an investment property - which we generally recommend - is the purchase of a building. - is the purchase of a building through a SCI (non-trading property company) subject to corporation tax. This allows the investor to develop his capital while limiting the tax impact on a personal basis. tax impact on a personal basis. The SCI also allows profits to be reinvested in other properties without going through the personal taxation. It is an ideal system if you wish to develop a significant property portfolio quickly. Thus your profit will be taxed at IS, which is rather favourable, especially if you are in the 15% bracket (corporation tax is 38,120 of profits from the SCI income tax), and you can reinvest it directly in other property projects within the SCI. property projects within the SCI.

Finally, experienced investors can set up a holding company to manage various SCIs. The advantage of this is that it allows the cash flow to to circulate between the different SCIs, to benefit several times from the reduced corporate tax rate (15%). These tax issues are fascinating but complex, and are developed in other articles and content on the subject.

Photo of apartment building

Old or new building?


Building a building is a fabulous project. Anyone who has ever built a building, either their own house or a block of flats, will understand the intellectual interest of such a project. of such a project. Choosing everything according to your taste, working with different trades, seeing the building come to life before your eyes, having a come to life before your eyes, having a new building at your disposal...

But the problem is that it is very complex, and very expensive. The various standards that have been piled up over the last 25 years have driven up the costs. years have driven up the cost of construction. You will find that even if you already have a piece of land by inheritance, for example, the cost of building is now so high that it is often more interesting to sell your land on one side and to buy a house on the other. to sell your land on the one hand, and then buy an existing building with a lower price.

As always, this depends on the geographical area. But if you are planning to build, make sure you choose the right partners and But if it is your project to build, be careful to choose the right partners and to cost everything in detail beforehand, taking a safety margin of 10 to 15%.

Sale of an investment property


Owning and creating income is good. But there comes a time when you may want to sell the building. Every investor has many reasons for wanting to sell: financing a new project, selling for family reasons, to get cash for retirement. The fact is that selling a building can be complicated. So if buying in bulk (several lots at once) is a real advantage compared to buying diffuse lots, it becomes a disadvantage for the sale. Since the amount is large, the number of interested (and financeable) people is reduced. You therefore have fewer potential buyers. potential buyers. In particular, you cut yourself off from buyers who are looking to buy to live in, and from first-time buyers.

It's supply and demand, and depending on where you are, it can be complicated. As an investor, you must take into account the lack of liquidity of this product (compared to a more traditional flat) and be wary of purchases in the open country, which are unsaleable.

Once again, even for a building, it will be easier to find buyers in Paris or the Paris region than in the depths of the Corrèze.

Rented building or building free of any occupation


When you buy a building, it may be vacant or already rented. There are several opposing schools of thought: the vacant property will allow you to carry out works to optimise rents, and to choose the tenants. On the other hand, a property that is already rented will represent less of an effort to rent, and will reassure the bank. It is up to you to weigh up the pros and cons. If you choose the option of a building with existing tenants, pay attention to their profiles.

Are there any outstanding payments? Are the tenants creditworthy? What are the terms of the various leases?

These are all questions that you should ask yourself before the project begins so that you can buy with full knowledge of the facts and limit the risk as much as possible.

Rental yield of an investment property


One of the interests of the investment property is... the rental income. Thus, if an investment property generally delivers a higher return than the purchase of an apartment the purchase of a flat, this can be explained by the fact that buying in bulk (several lots at once) allows for interesting savings. Another advantage is the absence of a trustee for freehold ownership. This avoids trustee fees and therefore eliminates a cost item.

Returns vary according to location and demand. It may seem paradoxical, but buildings in Paris generally offer very low returns. The reason is simple: demand is very high. The buyers are the pension funds and property dealers who have large funds and see the City of Light as an investment. Buying a building in the Paris suburbs is often much more interesting, with rental yields more interesting, with rental yields that can reach 10%.

As you can see, investing in an investment property is an excellent option if you wish to invest a larger sum than an apartment and have immediate access to the property. than a flat, and have a higher immediate rental income. Finally, this choice will give you a better return. We work with investors on building projects in the Paris region, with yields of up to 10%. Do you have a project? Please contact us.

Success stories from our investor customers

Our greatest pride is your renewed trust! More than 2 out of 3 clients go on to one or more other projects. Find out why...

Our advice on rental investment

Discover the guide for

Un investissement locatif
rentable en 2024

Take the first step by making an appointment.
Our team will handle everything else.

Make an appointment with one of our consultant by phone, or in one of our offices in Paris, Lyon or Lille.

01 84 17 67 60
N° non-surtaxé

Immeuble de rapport : l'investissement ultime ?

Un choix intéressant à condition de choisir un emplacement stratégique.
L'immeuble de rapport constitue le graal pour tout investisseur locatif. Il peut constituer un placement très rentable, à condition de respecter des critères rigoureux...


Comment investir dans un immeuble de rapport ? Toutes les infos et conseils pour bien choisir votre immeuble de rapport. A lire avant d'investir.

L'investisseur qui cherche un rendement élevé et une détention en pleine propriété, pourra s'orienter en toute logique vers un immeuble de rapport à vendre. Le choix d'investir dans un immeuble présente des avantages intéressants, mais également certains inconvénients à prendre en compte dès le début du projet. Les montants d'investissement sont naturellement plus élevés pour un immeuble que pour un appartement en copropriété, à secteur géographique égal. Raison de plus pour être vigilant. Attention également à faire les bons choix dès le début du projet d'investissement. Dans cet article vous découvrirez les éléments importants à prendre en compte si vous souhaitez investir dans un immeuble de rapport et les choses à éviter absolument lorsque vous investissez dans un immeuble de rapport.

Photo immeuble de rapport paris


Je m'appelle Mickael Zonta, et je suis le Directeur de la société de conseil Investissement Locatif. J'ai étudié la finance au sein d'une grande école de commerce (l'EDHEC) avant de m'orienter vers l'immobilier locatif dès la fin de mes études, en 2011. Depuis cette date j'accompagne les investisseurs dans leurs projets immobiliers, et j'investis également à titre personnel. J'ai toujours été attiré par l'immobilier et les immeubles de rapport constituent le graal pour tout investisseur immobilier.
D'abord parce qu'un immeuble est un bâtiment entier, avec une histoire. Ensuite parce que l'enveloppe financière d'un tel projet est toujours plus élevée qu'un appartement à l'unité. C'est comme acheter de l'immobilier en gros, ce qui signifie que vous développez votre patrimoine… mais encore plus vite. Enfin parce que la pleine propriété présente des avantages financiers certains par rapport à la copropriété. Les conseils et analyses que vous trouverez dans cet article sont issus de mon expérience personnelle. Mon équipe de vingt collaborateurs accompagne les investisseurs dans leurs projets d'immeubles de rapport en Île-de-France. Nous avons également la chance de gérer des immeubles avec toute la responsabilité que cela représente. Bonne lecture et n'hésitez pas à me contacter si vous avez des questions sur des points précis ou un projet d'investissement en immeuble de rapport.

Immeuble de rapport, définition

L'immeuble de rapport peut aussi s'appeler l'immeuble locatif. Il s'agit d'un projet particulier quand on parle d'investissement immobilier, et pour cause. Il s'agit d'un bâtiment composé de plusieurs appartements et qui est conçu comme un placement par le propriétaire investisseur. Ainsi, celui-ci pourra s'orienter sur un immeuble dont les appartements sont déjà loués, ou un immeuble ou les appartements sont vides ou encore un immeuble avec des appartements loués et d'autres vides. L'intérêt de disposer d'un immeuble vide est de réaliser des travaux si nécessaires, afin de valoriser au maximum les appartements, éventuellement modifier le plan afin d'optimiser les surfaces locatives en fonction de la demande locale. C'est une option à privilégier si vous souhaitez augmenter le rendement locatif. Attention toutefois, les travaux ne s'improvisent pas et encore moins sur un immeuble… vous devez être accompagné par un architecte si vous n'êtes pas du métier. D'un autre côté, les banques qui financeront l'opération pourraient apprécier le fait que l'immeuble soit loué en partie ou en totalité. Cela rassure puisque des baux sont déjà établis ce qui réduit l'incertitude sur la partie location : votre banquier sait directement à quel niveau de loyer l'immeuble est loué.

Photo immeuble ou studio

Où investir dans un immeuble de rapport ?

Que vous achetiez une studette ou un immeuble entier, le premier critère à prendre en compte, c'est la localisation. C'est encore plus vrai pour les immeubles puisque vous ne chercherez pas un, mais plusieurs locataires. Du fait du coup élevé d'une bâtisse dans les grandes villes, les investisseurs peuvent être tentés d'investir en rase campagne. Cela semble également plus facile à trouver : avec la désertification des campagnes, de nombreux bâtiments sont proposés à la vente. Mais attention : selon la localisation, le risque est réel de se retrouver avec un immeuble impossible à louer , à cause de la faible demande locative, ou impossible à vendre.

La ville, la rue, la demande locative, sont des points importants dans votre recherche, à analyser dès le début du projet. Si vous achetez un immeuble vide, il vous faudra le louer pour rembourser votre emprunt, mais si la demande locative n'est pas bonne comment allez-vous trouver des locataires ? Cela peut se transformer en véritable piège avec des mensualités de crédit sans loyer en face.

Trouver un immeuble de rapport à vendre qui présente toutes les caractéristiques pour un investissement locatif de qualité n'est pas chose simple. Les investisseurs qui font appel à nos services sont des investisseurs exigeants : ils cherchent un bien de qualité en fonction de critères précis. Voici quelques pistes pour faire le bon choix lorsque vous souhaitez acheter un immeuble.

D'abord, comme dans tout bien immobilier, le lieu est le premier critère. Être propriétaire d'un immeuble au fin fond de la Creuse, c'est flatteur. Mais si personne ne souhaite le louer, alors l'investissement se transforme en charge pure et peut vous faire perdre beaucoup d'argent.

Pour faire le bon choix, faites des recherches sur la ville de situation. Quelle est la tendance du bassin géographique ? A quel type de population vos biens seront-ils destinés et les prix sont-ils adaptés ? Si vous souhaitez louer à des étudiants par exemple, vérifier en amont que la demande existe.

Photo paris investir immeuble de rapport

Financer l'achat d'un immeuble de rapport

L'immeuble de rapport affiche généralement une rentabilité supérieure à celle d'un lot diffus. Comme nous l'avons vu, cela est dû au fait que l'investisseur achète en gros et qu'il évite les frais de syndic. Le montant du projet est plus important que pour l'achat d'un lot diffus, mais les banques financent très bien ce type de projets.

Lorsque vous choisissez d'investir dans un immeuble, gardez à l'esprit que les travaux peuvent être importants. Ainsi contrairement à un appartement en copropriété, vous devrez supporter la totalité de la toiture ou de la façade en cas de travaux sur le bâtiment. Les surfaces à rénover sont également nettement plus importantes que pour un appartement isolé, il faut en tenir compte dès le début. Cela implique qu'un fond de trésorerie est nécessaire afin d'éviter une mauvaise surprise… Lors du financement, demandez un décalage de trésorerie en prévoyant le temps des travaux avec une sécurité supplémentaire de 3 mois au minimum (les travaux réservent toujours des surprises).

La durée du financement dépend de votre stratégie d'investissement. Ainsi une durée longue favorisera le cash-flow immédiat, puisque la mensualité pourra être inférieure aux loyers. Une durée plus courte permettra de rembourser le prêt plus rapidement et donc de disposer plus rapidement de la totalité des loyers… donc d'une rente qui peut être considérable selon la taille du projet.

Pour ce qui concerne le prêt, n'hésitez pas à consulter plusieurs banques ou à passer par un courtier spécialisé. Dans le cadre de nos services, Investissement Locatif dispose de solides partenaires sur l'aspect financement. Si vous le souhaitez, nous vous mettrons en contact avec des spécialistes du sujet. Enfin, sachez que certaines banques acceptent de décaler le début des mensualités de douze à trente-six mois. Cela peut vous aider à constituer un fonds de trésorerie afin de sécuriser au maximum votre investissement.

Acheter un immeuble : SCI ou nom propre ?

Les investisseurs avertis auront le choix entre plusieurs régimes pour le montage du projet : location meublée en LMP ou LMNP au réel, SCI à l'IR ou encore SCI à l'IS, société de type SARL ou SAS. Chaque régime a ses avantages et ses inconvénients, et nous vous conseillerons sur les aspects fiscaux et les montages fiscaux possibles.

A noter que le régime le plus utilisé pour l'investissement dans un immeuble de rapport - que nous recommandons de manière générale – est l'achat d'un immeuble par le biais d'une SCI à l'IS. Cela permet à l'investisseur de développer son capital en limitant l'impact fiscal à titre personnel. La SCI permet également de réinvestir les bénéfices dans d'autres biens immobiliers, sans passer par la case de l'imposition personnelle. C'est un régime idéal si vous souhaitez développer rapidement un patrimoine immobilier important. Ainsi votre bénéfice sera imposé à l'IS ce qui est plutôt favorable surtout si vous êtes dans la tranche à 15% (l'impôt sur les sociétés est de 15% pour les 38.120 premiers euros de bénéfices source le revenus SCI à l'IS), et vous pourrez le réinvestir directement dans d'autres projets immobiliers au sein de la SCI.

Enfin les investisseurs chevronnés pourront créer une holding qui pilotera différentes SCI. L'intérêt est de permettre à la trésorerie de circuler entre les différentes SCI, de bénéficier plusieurs fois du taux d'impôts sur les sociétés réduit (15%). Ces sujets fiscaux sont passionnants mais complexes, et ils sont développés dans d'autres articles et contenus sur le sujet.

Photo immeuble de rapport

Immeuble ancien ou immeuble neuf ?

Construire un immeuble est un projet fabuleux. Toute personne qui a déjà construit un bâtiment, que ce soit sa propre maison ou un immeuble comprendra l'intérêt intellectuel d'un tel projet. Tout choisir selon vos goûts, travailler de concert avec différents corps de métier, voir l'immeuble prendre vie sous vos yeux, disposer d'un bâtiment neuf...

Mais le problème c'est que c'est très complexe, et très coûteux. Les différentes normes qui se sont empilées au cours des 25 dernières années ont fait grimper les coûts de construction. Vous vous rendrez compte que même si vous disposez déjà d'un terrain par héritage par exemple, le coût de la construction est aujourd'hui tellement élevé, que bien souvent, il est plus intéressant de vendre votre terrain d'un côté, puis d'acheter un bâtiment existant en appliquant une

Cela dépend comme toujours des zones géographiques. Mais si c'est votre projet de construire, attention à choisir les bons partenaires et à tout chiffrer en détail avant, en prenant une marge de sécurité de 10 à 15%.

Vente d'un immeuble de rapport

Détenir et créer de la rente, c'est bien. Mais vient un jour où vous voudrez peut-être vendre l'immeuble. Chaque investisseur a de nombreuses raisons de vouloir vendre : financer un nouveau projet, vendre pour raisons familiales, récupérer du cash pour sa retraite. Le fait est que la vente d'un immeuble peut s'avérer compliquée. Ainsi si l'achat en gros (plusieurs lots d'un coup) est un avantage réel par rapport à l'achat de lots diffus, cela devient un inconvénient pour la vente. Puisque le montant est important, le nombre de personnes intéressées (et finançables) est réduit. Vous avez donc moins d'acheteurs potentiels. Vous vous coupez notamment des acheteurs qui cherchent à acheter pour habiter, et des primo-accédants.

C'est le jeu de l'offre et la demande et selon le lieu de situation cela peut s'avérer compliqué. En tant qu'investisseur, vous devez prendre en compte le peu de liquidité de ce produit (par rapport à un appartement plus classique) et vous méfier des achats en rase campagne, qui sont invendables.

Encore une fois et même pour un immeuble, il sera plus facile de trouver des acheteurs à Paris ou en région parisienne, qu'au fin fond de la Corrèze.

Immeuble loué ou immeuble libre de toute occupation

Lorsque vous achetez un immeuble, celui-ci peut être libre de toute occupation ou déjà loué. Plusieurs écoles s'opposent : l'immeuble libre vous permettra de réaliser les travaux afin d'optimiser les loyers, et de choisir les locataires. A l'inverse un bien déjà loué représentera moins d'effort pour la location, et rassurera la banque. A vous de voir et de peser le pour et le contre. Si vous choisissez l'option d'un immeuble avec des locataires en place, soyez attentif à leurs profils.

Existe-t-il des impayés ? Les locataires sont-ils solvables ? Quelle est l'échéance des différents baux ?

Autant de questions qu'il vaut mieux se poser en amont du projet afin de vous porter acquéreur en connaissance de cause et de limiter au maximum le risque.

Rendement locatif d'un immeuble de rapport

Un des intérêts de l'immeuble de rapport, c'est… le rapport locatif. Ainsi si l'immeuble de rapport délivre en général un rendement supérieur à l'achat d'un appartement cela s'explique par le fait que l'achat en gros (plusieurs lots d'un coup) permet de réaliser une économie intéressante. Un autre atout est l'absence de syndic pour la détention en pleine propriété. Cela permet d'éviter les frais de syndic et donc de supprimer un poste de coûts.

Les rendements varient selon le lieu de situation et la demande. Cela peut sembler paradoxal, mais les immeubles à Paris proposent en général des rendements très faibles. La raison est simple : la demande est très forte. Les acheteurs sont les fonds de pension et marchands de biens qui disposent de fonds importants et voit la ville lumière comme un placement. Acheter un immeuble en banlieue parisienne est souvent nettement plus intéressant, avec des rendements locatifs qui peuvent atteindre les 10%.

Vous l'avez compris, l'investissement dans un immeuble de rapport est une excellente option si vous souhaitez investir une somme plus conséquente qu'un appartement, et disposer immédiatement d'un montant de loyers plus élevés. Enfin, ce choix vous permettra de disposer d'une meilleure rentabilité. Nous accompagnons les investisseurs sur des projets d'immeubles en Île-de-France, avec des rendements jusqu'à 10%. Vous avez un projet ? Contactez-nous.


Acheter pour louer

Un investissement immobilier réussi passe par un achat locatif au meilleur prix. Nos chasseurs d'appartements travaillent avec un cahier des charges strictes pour vous trouver les meilleures affaires à Paris, en île de France et à Lyon ! Bien acheter vous permettra d'augmenter la rentabilité locative du projet.


Conseil en investissement locatif

Rénovation et décoration

Nos architectes et décorateurs optimisent le plan au maximum en prenant en compte la demande locative locale. Une rénovation de qualité et une décoration coup de cœur permettront de louer au meilleur prix. Nous travaillons avec des entreprises de bâtiment sérieuses pour que la rénovation d'appartement soit une réussite et nous gérons le suivi de l'avancement pour vous.


Rénovation appartement Paris

Rendement locatif élevé

Les investisseurs qui s'adressent à Investissement-Locatif.com ont des critères différents. Quels que soient vos critères, un investissement immobilier locatif doit prendre en compte la notion de rentabilité. Nous vous apportons des conseils et notre démarche vous permet d'optimiser le rendement locatif de votre investissement.



Rendement locatif : définition